Skip to content

#3 of 30 · Device-first AI

Apple (Apple Intelligence)

Small on-device models by default; the cloud part is opaque.

Cupertino, California·apple.com ·Verified Oct 16, 2026
BGood confidence
Index score
Good confidence

In plain words

How scores work

Apple scores 70 out of 100 — leader. Discloses real numbers and runs mostly on clean power. Still has a footprint, but you can see it. Confidence in this score is good confidence (B).

What helps

  • Efficiency · Most Apple Intelligence tasks run on a small on-device model; server requests go to Private Cloud Compute on Apple silicon rather than GPU clusters.
  • Carbon · Corporate operations carbon neutral since 2020; 100% renewable electricity for facilities since 2018; emissions down more than 60% versus 2015.
  • Water · All eight owned data centres certified to the Alliance for Water Stewardship standard; over 55% of corporate freshwater withdrawals replenished.

What hurts

  • Efficiency · No per-request energy figure has been published, so the score rests on architecture, not measurement.
  • Transparency · Detailed annual Environmental Progress Report, but nothing model- or request-level for Apple Intelligence, and no figure for the size of Private Cloud Compute.

What nobody knows

  • Per-prompt energy disclosed
  • Per-prompt water disclosed
  • Training emissions in model cards
  • Water-use effectiveness reported

Apple Intelligence routes most requests to a ~3B-parameter model running on the device, falling back to Private Cloud Compute on Apple silicon. Apple's corporate operations have run on 100% renewable electricity since 2018 and the company reports emissions down more than 60% from a 2015 baseline, but it publishes nothing AI-specific and began extending Private Cloud Compute to Google Cloud in 2026.

Products
Apple Intelligence · Private Cloud Compute · Apple Foundation Models
Hosting
Own data centres (eight owned sites) plus Private Cloud Compute capacity on Google Cloud from 2026; servers built in Houston, Texas.

Key figures

Per-prompt and fleet metrics. Hover a title for what it means; open “How we got this number” for the working.

How to read the labels:Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.Measured independentlyMeasured independently. Measured or estimated by researchers or analysts with no stake in the result.ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.— hover any label.
Energy per promptElectricity used to answer one typical request. Under 0.3 Wh is good. A 10 W LED bulb uses 0.3 Wh in about two minutes.
0.02
Wh / typical prompt
≈ 1.67 smartphone charges per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Luccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)Apple

ecogpt.co estimate; no company figure.

How we got this number

Most Apple Intelligence requests run a ≈3B-parameter model on the device's own neural engine; measured sub-10B server models median 0.042 Wh, and a phone NPU does the same work for less. Private Cloud Compute requests are the minority. Uncertainty roughly ±3×.

Water per promptWater evaporated cooling the servers for one request. Scope matters: on-site cooling only, or also the water used to generate the electricity (which adds ≈1.8 mL per Wh).
0.00
mL / typical prompt
≈ 0.01 500 mL bottles per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Luccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)Apple

On-site cooling only, so comparable with Google and OpenAI's figures.

How we got this number

0.02 Wh per prompt × 0.2 L/kWh (estimated WUE for Apple's AWS-certified water-stewardship sites). Counting the water evaporated to generate the electricity adds ≈0.04 mL.

Carbon per promptGreenhouse gas from one request on the grid where it actually runs. Below 0.1 g is clean. A kilometre in a petrol car is about 170 g.
0.008
gCO₂e / typical prompt
≈ 0.05 km driven (petrol car) per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Luccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)Apple

Location-based: what the grid actually emitted. Renewable certificates would bring the market-based figure near zero.

How we got this number

0.02 Wh × 390 gCO₂/kWh (US grid, location-based).

Annual emissionsThe company's whole yearly footprint, in million tonnes of CO₂e. Clouds and device makers dwarf pure labs because they also count shops, logistics or products. Compare the trend, not the size.
15.4
MtCO₂e (FY2024, gross, whole product life cycle)
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Apple
How we got this number

Apple reports gross emissions more than 60% below its 2015 baseline of 38.4 Mt, which implies roughly 15 Mt. Almost all of it is product manufacturing, not AI.

Emissions trendDirection of travel against last year or the company's own baseline. Negative is good. Positive means the AI build-out is outrunning clean energy.
-60.0
% vs 2015 baseline
Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.Apple
Water per kWh (WUE)Litres of water consumed per kilowatt-hour of server electricity, across the fleet. 0.15 is excellent, 0.3 is good, 1.8 is the US data-centre average.
0.20
L/kWh
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.AppleKoomey Analytics
How we got this number

Apple publishes no WUE. Its data centres hold Alliance for Water Stewardship certification and several use outside-air cooling; 0.2 L/kWh matches peers with similar designs.

Clean electricityShare of electricity matched with renewable or carbon-free sources. Annual matching counts certificates bought anywhere; hourly matching on the same grid is far stricter.
100
% renewable electricity (facilities, market-based)
Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.Apple

Hardware & materials

The chips, power, copper and future e-waste behind the fleet — the part sustainability reports leave out

Factors we use
AI chips in service
100,000
Apple-silicon Private Cloud Compute nodes (order of magnitude)
≈ 1,389 racks of 72 GPUs
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.MacTrastHelp Net Security

GPUs, TPUs or custom accelerators the company runs. Analyst figures are in H100-equivalents, company figures in physical chips.

How we got this number

Apple discloses nothing about PCC's size. A dedicated server plant in Houston has been shipping since October 2025 and PCC is expanding into Google Cloud, which points to a fleet in the low hundreds of thousands of nodes. Uncertainty ±5×.

Power draw
130
MW
≈ 97,500 US homes' worth of power
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.MacTrastHelp Net SecuritySemiAnalysis

Megawatts the AI fleet pulls. One megawatt runs roughly 750 US homes.

How we got this number

100,000 accelerators × 1.3 kW each, all-in. Fleet power implied by the chip count.

Electricity a year
0.91
TWh / year
≈ 86,667 US homes for a year
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.MacTrastHelp Net SecuritySemiAnalysis

Terawatt-hours per year. One TWh is a year of electricity for about 95,000 US homes.

How we got this number

130 MW × 8,760 h × 80% utilisation. Compute fleet only.

Carbon baked into the hardware
51.4
ktCO₂e embodied in chips and servers
≈ 11,174 petrol cars driven for a year
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.MacTrastHelp Net SecurityarXiv 2607.05408NVIDIA developer blog

CO₂e emitted making the chips and servers before they answer a single prompt.

How we got this number

100,000 accelerators × 514 kg CO₂e each (chip plus share of the host server). Emitted in manufacturing, before the first prompt is served.

Future e-waste
1,700
tonnes of servers to retire within ~5 years
≈ 9.4 empty Boeing 747s by weight
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.MacTrastHelp Net SecurityNVIDIAThe Register

Tonnes of server hardware that will be retired in three to five years.

How we got this number

100,000 accelerators × 17 kg of server hardware each. Tomorrow's e-waste unless reused; generative AI could produce 2.5 Mt of it a year by 2030.

Copper in the build
3,510
tonnes of copper in the build
≈ copper for 42,289 electric cars
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.MacTrastHelp Net SecuritySemiAnalysisBHPS&P Global Market Intelligence

Tonnes of copper in cabling, busbars and transformers.

How we got this number

130 MW × 27 t of copper per MW (cabling, busbars, transformers).

Fossil generators on site
50.0
backup diesel generators (implied)
≈ 130 MW of backup capacity
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.MacTrastHelp Net SecuritySemiAnalysisLatitude MediaLatitude Media / Floodlight

Diesel backup units or gas turbines at the data centres, permitted or observed.

How we got this number

130 MW ÷ 2.6 MW per generator, the average size permitted at US data centres. Permit counts are not published fleet-wide; this is the number a fleet this size normally carries.

Hardware reused or recycled
—
Apple reports device recycling programmes but no server reuse rate.
Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.Apple

Share of retired servers and parts given a second life.

Mineral depletion
—
Only Mistral has published a mineral-depletion figure.
Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.

Kilograms of antimony-equivalent, the life-cycle unit for scarce minerals consumed.

Score breakdown

Each pillar is 0–100; weights are fixed across the index

Energy efficiency — How much electricity one answer costs.weight 20% · confidence C
85
  • Most Apple Intelligence tasks run on a small on-device model; server requests go to Private Cloud Compute on Apple silicon rather than GPU clusters. AppleHelp Net Security
  • No per-request energy figure has been published, so the score rests on architecture, not measurement. Apple
Carbon intensity — How clean that electricity is, and whether total emissions are rising.weight 25% · confidence B
75
  • Corporate operations carbon neutral since 2020; 100% renewable electricity for facilities since 2018; emissions down more than 60% versus 2015. Apple
  • Private Cloud Compute now also runs in Google Cloud regions, whose carbon-free share varies by location. Help Net Security
Water — How much water the data centres consume, and whether it is replaced.weight 15% · confidence B
70
  • All eight owned data centres certified to the Alliance for Water Stewardship standard; over 55% of corporate freshwater withdrawals replenished. Apple
Transparency — How much the company actually publishes.weight 20% · confidence C
38
  • Detailed annual Environmental Progress Report, but nothing model- or request-level for Apple Intelligence, and no figure for the size of Private Cloud Compute. Apple
Commitments — Whether it has dated, measurable climate and water targets.weight 10% · confidence A
85
  • Apple 2030: carbon neutral across the entire value chain, with a 75% absolute reduction and high-quality removals for the remainder. Apple
Conduct — How it behaves: permits, lawsuits, gas turbines, community water.weight 10% · confidence B
75
  • No AI-infrastructure permit disputes or community water conflicts on record. Apple

Models

What this company ships, and what each prompt costs

ModelWeightsEnergy / promptWaterTraining CO₂e
Apple Foundation Models (on-device)
≈3B on-device; server model on Apple silicon
Closed0.02 Wh Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.0.004 mL Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.1,000 t Estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.

Where the compute lives

Named sites from company disclosures and press reporting

OperationalConstructionPlanned
  • MaidenNorth Carolina, USA
  • MesaArizona, USA
  • RenoNevada, USA
  • ViborgDenmark
  • Houston server plantTexas, USA · Builds PCC servers; shipping since Oct 2025.
  • Private Cloud Compute on Google CloudMultiple regions · Third-party capacity from 2026.