Skip to content

#23 of 30 · Inference chipmaker & cloud

Groq

Claims a tenth of the energy per token; measured by no one; now licensed to NVIDIA.

Mountain View, California·groq.com ·Verified Oct 17, 2026
DLittle data
Index score
Little data

In plain words

How scores work

Groq scores 37 out of 100 — laggard. Little or no disclosure, fossil-backed capacity, or active disputes with regulators and communities. Confidence in this score is little data (D).

What helps

  • Efficiency · SRAM-based LPU architecture; Groq claims up to 10× the speed at a tenth of the energy of GPUs, and picked Helsinki for 'high-efficiency, low-cost inference'.
  • Carbon · Helsinki sits on one of Europe's lowest-carbon grids.

What hurts

  • Efficiency · No independent per-token energy measurement exists.
  • Carbon · Dammam runs on Saudi Arabia's gas-fired grid; US sites on the grid with no procurement disclosed.
  • Water · No water data; colocation sites in Finland, Saudi Arabia, Australia and the US.

What nobody knows

  • Per-prompt energy disclosed
  • Per-prompt water disclosed
  • Training emissions in model cards
  • Annual environmental report
  • Location-based Scope 2 reported
  • +3 more

Groq's LPU serves open models at very high speed from its own GroqCloud sites in the United States, Dammam, Saudi Arabia (backed by a $1.5 billion Saudi commitment), Helsinki and Sydney. It claims up to ten times the speed at a tenth of the energy of GPUs and has published no measurement to support it. In December 2025 NVIDIA paid a reported $20 billion to license Groq's technology and hire its founders; Groq continues as an independent company with no environmental report.

Products
GroqCloud · LPU Inference Engine · GroqRack
Hosting
Own racks in US colocation sites, Dammam (Saudi Arabia), Helsinki (Equinix) and Sydney (Equinix).

Key figures

Per-prompt and fleet metrics. Hover a title for what it means; open “How we got this number” for the working.

How to read the labels:Company figureCompany figure. Published by the company itself. We take it as given and record the scope next to it.Measured independentlyMeasured independently. Measured or estimated by researchers or analysts with no stake in the result.ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.— hover any label.
Energy per promptElectricity used to answer one typical request. Under 0.3 Wh is good. A 10 W LED bulb uses 0.3 Wh in about two minutes.
0.10
Wh / typical prompt
≈ 8.33 smartphone charges per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Data Center DynamicsEpoch AILuccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)

ecogpt.co estimate; no company figure.

How we got this number

GroqCloud serves 70B-class open models (GPU baseline ≈0.25 Wh). Groq claims a tenth of the energy per token; with no independent measurement we credit a 2.5× improvement. Uncertainty roughly ±3×.

Water per promptWater evaporated cooling the servers for one request. Scope matters: on-site cooling only, or also the water used to generate the electricity (which adds ≈1.8 mL per Wh).
0.05
mL / typical prompt
≈ 0.10 500 mL bottles per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Data Center DynamicsEpoch AILuccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)Koomey Analytics

On-site cooling only, so comparable with Google and OpenAI's figures.

How we got this number

0.1 Wh per prompt × 0.5 L/kWh (estimated WUE for colocation sites across four countries). Counting the water evaporated to generate the electricity adds ≈0.18 mL.

Carbon per promptGreenhouse gas from one request on the grid where it actually runs. Below 0.1 g is clean. A kilometre in a petrol car is about 170 g.
0.048
gCO₂e / typical prompt
≈ 0.28 km driven (petrol car) per 1,000 prompts
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Data Center DynamicsEpoch AILuccioni, Jernite, Strubell (arXiv 2311.16863)

Location-based: what the grid actually emitted. Renewable certificates would bring the market-based figure near zero.

How we got this number

0.1 Wh × 480 gCO₂/kWh (world average grid, location-based). Dammam's grid is almost entirely gas; Helsinki's is largely carbon-free.

Annual emissionsThe company's whole yearly footprint, in million tonnes of CO₂e. Clouds and device makers dwarf pure labs because they also count shops, logistics or products. Compare the trend, not the size.
0.20
MtCO₂e / year (AI compute only)
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Reuters via Yahoo FinanceData Center Dynamics

Location-based estimate for the AI fleet only; not comparable with a full corporate inventory.

How we got this number

60 MW × 8,760 h × 80% utilisation × 480 gCO₂/kWh (world average grid). Compute only — nothing else the company does is counted.

Emissions trendDirection of travel against last year or the company's own baseline. Negative is good. Positive means the AI build-out is outrunning clean energy.
+300
% ('more than a dozen' new data centres planned)
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Data Center Dynamics
How we got this number

Groq said in October 2025 it would open more than a dozen data centres in the following year, several times its 2025 footprint.

Water per kWh (WUE)Litres of water consumed per kilowatt-hour of server electricity, across the fleet. 0.15 is excellent, 0.3 is good, 1.8 is the US data-centre average.
0.50
L/kWh
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Data Center DynamicsKoomey Analytics
How we got this number

No disclosure. Equinix colocation in Helsinki and Sydney plus desert sites in Dammam; 0.5 L/kWh is a blended assumption.

Clean electricityShare of electricity matched with renewable or carbon-free sources. Annual matching counts certificates bought anywhere; hourly matching on the same grid is far stricter.
30.0
% (capacity-weighted grid mix)
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Reuters via Yahoo FinanceData Center Dynamics
How we got this number

Saudi Arabia's grid is about 1% renewable, the US about 40% non-fossil and Finland about 90%; weighted by where Groq's capacity sits.

Hardware & materials

The chips, power, copper and future e-waste behind the fleet — the part sustainability reports leave out

Factors we use
AI chips in service
100,000
LPUs (order of magnitude)
≈ 1,389 racks of 72 GPUs
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Reuters via Yahoo FinanceData Center Dynamics

GPUs, TPUs or custom accelerators the company runs. Analyst figures are in H100-equivalents, company figures in physical chips.

How we got this number

Groq publishes no count. A $1.5bn Saudi commitment at roughly $20,000 per deployed LPU, plus US and Helsinki sites and a plan for 'more than a dozen' new data centres, points to around 100,000 chips. ±2×.

Power draw
60.0
MW (2026)
≈ 45,000 US homes' worth of power
ecogpt.co estimateecogpt.co estimate. Our own estimate from published factors. The working is shown next to the number; treat it as an order of magnitude, not a measurement.Reuters via Yahoo FinanceData Center Dynamics

Megawatts the AI fleet pulls. One megawatt runs roughly 750 US homes.

How we got this number

LPU racks draw far less per chip than GPU racks; ≈100,000 chips at about 0.5 kW all-in, across Dammam, Helsinki, Sydney and US sites.

Electricity a year
0.42
TWh / year
≈ 40,000 US homes for a year
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Reuters via Yahoo FinanceData Center DynamicsSemiAnalysis

Terawatt-hours per year. One TWh is a year of electricity for about 95,000 US homes.

How we got this number

60 MW × 8,760 h × 80% utilisation. Compute fleet only.

Carbon baked into the hardware
51.4
ktCO₂e embodied in chips and servers
≈ 11,174 petrol cars driven for a year
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Reuters via Yahoo FinanceData Center DynamicsarXiv 2607.05408NVIDIA developer blog

CO₂e emitted making the chips and servers before they answer a single prompt.

How we got this number

100,000 accelerators × 514 kg CO₂e each (chip plus share of the host server). Emitted in manufacturing, before the first prompt is served.

Future e-waste
1,700
tonnes of servers to retire within ~5 years
≈ 9.4 empty Boeing 747s by weight
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Reuters via Yahoo FinanceData Center DynamicsNVIDIAThe Register

Tonnes of server hardware that will be retired in three to five years.

How we got this number

100,000 accelerators × 17 kg of server hardware each. Tomorrow's e-waste unless reused; generative AI could produce 2.5 Mt of it a year by 2030.

Copper in the build
1,620
tonnes of copper in the build
≈ copper for 19,518 electric cars
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Reuters via Yahoo FinanceData Center DynamicsBHPS&P Global Market Intelligence

Tonnes of copper in cabling, busbars and transformers.

How we got this number

60 MW × 27 t of copper per MW (cabling, busbars, transformers).

Fossil generators on site
23.0
backup diesel generators (implied)
≈ 60 MW of backup capacity
DerivedDerived. Arithmetic on a disclosed or independent input using a published conversion factor.Reuters via Yahoo FinanceData Center DynamicsLatitude MediaLatitude Media / Floodlight

Diesel backup units or gas turbines at the data centres, permitted or observed.

How we got this number

60 MW ÷ 2.6 MW per generator, the average size permitted at US data centres. Permit counts are not published fleet-wide; this is the number a fleet this size normally carries.

Hardware reused or recycled
—
No hardware reuse or e-waste figure published.
Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.

Share of retired servers and parts given a second life.

Mineral depletion
—
Only Mistral has published a mineral-depletion figure.
Not disclosedNot disclosed. The company publishes nothing on this and no defensible estimate exists.

Kilograms of antimony-equivalent, the life-cycle unit for scarce minerals consumed.

Score breakdown

Each pillar is 0–100; weights are fixed across the index

Energy efficiency — How much electricity one answer costs.weight 20% · confidence C
60
  • SRAM-based LPU architecture; Groq claims up to 10× the speed at a tenth of the energy of GPUs, and picked Helsinki for 'high-efficiency, low-cost inference'. Data Center DynamicsTom's Hardware
  • No independent per-token energy measurement exists. Tom's Hardware
Carbon intensity — How clean that electricity is, and whether total emissions are rising.weight 25% · confidence C
40
Water — How much water the data centres consume, and whether it is replaced.weight 15% · confidence D
45
  • No water data; colocation sites in Finland, Saudi Arabia, Australia and the US. Data Center Dynamics
Transparency — How much the company actually publishes.weight 20% · confidence D
10
  • No environmental report, no chip count, no energy measurement behind the efficiency claim. Tom's Hardware
Commitments — Whether it has dated, measurable climate and water targets.weight 10% · confidence C
10
Conduct — How it behaves: permits, lawsuits, gas turbines, community water.weight 10% · confidence C
55

Models

What this company ships, and what each prompt costs

No model-level entries — this company hosts or supplies others rather than serving its own models.

Where the compute lives

Named sites from company disclosures and press reporting

OperationalConstructionPlanned
  • Mountain View HQCalifornia, USA
  • DammamSaudi Arabia · $1.5bn Saudi commitment; gas grid.
  • Helsinki (Equinix)Finland · Low-carbon grid.
  • Sydney (Equinix)Australia