Skip to content
HighEmissions·

Amazon's emissions jump 16% to 80.9 Mt — its largest rise ever — on record data-centre additions

Amazon's 2025 sustainability report shows absolute emissions of 80.85 MtCO₂e, up 16% in a year, with Scope 2 up 34% on data-centre electricity. AWS still does not disclose how much electricity it uses; the report is limited to PUE (1.14) and WUE.

Amazon's 2025 report, released on 1 July 2026, records the largest single-year emissions increase since the company began tracking: absolute emissions reached 80.85 million tonnes CO₂e, 16% above 2024. Scope 1 rose 2%, Scope 3 rose 20% and purchased-electricity (Scope 2) emissions rose 34%, which Amazon attributes mainly to data-centre growth alongside delivery and building electrification.

The company matched 100% of its electricity with renewables for a third consecutive year — on an annual, global basis rather than hourly — and reports a fleet PUE of 1.14 against an industry average of 1.25. Carbon intensity per dollar of sales rose 3% year on year but remains 38% below 2019.

Data Center Dynamics notes that absolute energy consumption for AWS was not disclosed; the report limits itself to efficiency metrics. Epoch AI estimates Amazon's AI fleet at roughly 2.5 million H100-equivalents, about half of it on its own Trainium chips.